(Depends on How You Define ((Free)) Dating Websites)

I’ve been on three free dating web sites for about 4 days now.  I’m considering the possibility of cancelling them all.  I’m not going to make any rash decisions, but that’s where I’m at.

So far, I’ve invested most of my time to plentyoffish.com, although that wasn’t a conscious decision.  I signed up for three “free” websites on the same evening, but got the most action from plentyoffish.  It’s turned out to be quite a meat market. 

As I’ve written in my last couple of posts, I’ve spent several hours IMing people.  Unless you are looking for a booty call or wanting to chat with a stranger endlessly, I do not recommend using IM on plentyoffish.  These are people who don’t take the time to compose an email to you and have no intention of staying in contact with you beyond a random IM conversation and/or booty call.

If you’re looking to hook up, I HIGHLY recommend it.  Just use a condom. 

One of the IMs that popped up yesterday said “I have a [ding dong] and  you have a mouth.  Let them meet.”  Eeewww.  These web sites may be “free” in terms of not requiring a credit card payment, but I am paying via daily assaults to my mental health.  I don’t need to be exposed to this kind of harassment.

OKcupid.com got off to a really slow start, but them someone (I guess a customer service person?) emailed me and told me I had to start answering questions in order to show up in searches.  Apparently you answer a series of questions from time to time and this helps with the matching.  You answer the question and specify how you would like the other person to answer them, then indicate how important their answer is to you.  You can also skip questions, which is cool.

2 Responses to (Depends on How You Define ((Free)) Dating Websites)

  1. Eww.. I can’t believe a guy had the balls to IM you that!!!

  2. Cindy Thomas says:

    No kidding! I wasn’t impressed with my match.com prospects, but now I’m leaning toward going back to match.com so I don’t have to deal with people who are (over the top) crazy!

Leave a Reply

