Men Have Radar That Detects When a Girl is Ready to Move On

I had scheduled my “relationship post-mortem” for today, now that I’ve had some distance from Dave.  I went ahead and posted it a little while ago.

We last spoke 11 days ago and I never thought I would hear from him again.  Naturally, on the day that I plan to officially put closure on the relationship, he calls.  This reminds me of something Little Miss Obsessive wrote recently:

Sometimes, I feel like guys have this radar that detects when a girl is ready to move on.  It’s almost like they can hear you thinking “I’m done” and they know they need to step up or they will lose you…

For as socially inept as men can be sometimes, they have a knack for timing.  I’m going to try to make this post quick, because I’m hoping to catch the Neanderthal Code tonight on the National Geographic Channel.  I have a strong suspicion the show will help me understand what went wrong with Dave.  I had said he was not a meathead, but I think I may have been mistaken.

I need to vent for a moment…

The message he left said that he hadn’t called me because he was giving me space/time (if you’re going to blow me off, don’t tell me you did it for my own good – this isn’t the first time I’ve heard this crock of sh!t) since the last time we spoke I was in a “dark place.”  Huh?  Last time we talked, I said I was feeling apathetic about being social (really, I was just apathetic about talking to him, but was trying to be polite).  He immediately interpreted my apathy as a sign of depression.  I assured him this was not the case, that I feel apathetic from time to time and for me that is NOT the same thing as feeling depressed.

But, per his usual behavior, he assumed I was in a dark place and didn’t listen to me when I said I wasn’t in a dark place and proceeds to call me 11 days later to check on me to see how I’m doing since I was in a dark place last time we talked.  WTF?

Hey Dave, thanks for the concern 1.5 weeks later, dumb@ss!  Your support over the last 11 days (not calling me, but chatting with chics on match.com) has been priceless. 

One Response to Men Have Radar That Detects When a Girl is Ready to Move On

  1. I swear.. everytime, without fail when I throw in the towel and think “this is sooo not worth it.. I really don’t care if he never calls me again.” They pop up again! It’s so annoying.

    Anyway, Dave just sounds like he was not up to par. His loss, not yours!

Leave a Reply

