Social Skills and Gender Roles

As I mentioned in my previous post, Social Skills, or Lack Thereof, I’m clueless when it comes to men.  Whatever social skills I’ve developed for other areas of my life don’t always carry over when I deal with men.  I think it’s because I’m not sure what my role is.  Thanks to feminism and the women’s studies classes I took in college, I am painfully aware of how limiting and oppressive gender roles can be – for both men and women. 

 

I am a woman, so when it comes to men, what is my role?  I rarely cook or clean.  I’m not crazy about kids in general.  When I see babies, I think, “Thank God I’ll never go through that again.”  I’m a brainiac and I would have definitely killed myself had I been born a few decades earlier.  As a matter of fact, my maternal grandmother committed suicide.  Prior to that, she coped with alcohol and cigarettes.  And my paternal grandmother wasn’t really into children, although she had 6 of them.  She coped with food.  She was obese, long before it was the norm.

 

Anyway, traditional gender roles are out for me.  I just don’t fit into that framework.  I don’t want to be anyone’s wife, in the traditional sense.  So does that mean I want a wife – a Mr. Mom?  I’ve thought about it.  It’s a definite possibility.  Or do I want to be with a financially stable man?  We could afford to hire a wife, so to speak.  We could contract out the cooking, shopping, and cleaning for the household.  That way, neither one of us would have to do it.  I’m leaning towards going in this direction.

One Response to Social Skills and Gender Roles

  1. I don’t want to be anyone’s wife, in the traditional sense. So does that mean I want a wife – a Mr. Mom?

    I would hypothesize that this is the key, knowing yourself and what you want (instead of those roles society/culture states you should want/be) is the success to finding someone compatible with that.

    I have a career-woman friend who is a pitbull at work, she admitted to me that she wants a man who can make decisions and be a bit of a Dom in the private areas of their life.

    Another friend wants a harem of submissive boys to do the housework and submit to her being the Dom.

    Welcome to the age of enlightenment. May we all know what we want. 😉

Leave a Reply

